Lexicon

Chronification

Chronification refers to the transition from the temporary to a permanent (chronic) presence of a disease or symptoms, especially pain.

People with chronic pains often look back on a “pain career“ with countless doctor visits and hospital stays. They have a variety of treatments behind them, often without an improvement of their suffering.

The goal of the therapy with chronic pain patients is not primarily to eliminate the pain, but the improvement of the health, the increase of health conditions and efficiency, the reduction of anxiety and thereby the increasing the quality of life.

Physiotherapy treatment approaches: increasement of body awareness, endurance and strength training, so that the pain threshold is raised and the pain impulse are no longer perceived as quite as agonizing.

Lexikon

Chronifizierung

Unter Chronifizierung versteht man den Übergang von der vorübergehenden zur dauerhaften (chronischen) Präsenz einer Erkrankung oder eines Symptoms, insbesondere von Schmerzen.

Menschen mit chronischen Schmerzen blicken meist auf eine lange “Schmerzkarriere” mit zahllosen Arztbesuchen und Spitalaufenthalten zurück. Sie haben eine Vielzahl von Therapien hinter sich, meist ohne eine Besserung ihres Leidens erfahren zu haben.

Ziel der Therapie bei chronischen Schmerzpatienten ist nicht vorrangig die Beseitigung der Schmerzen, sondern die Verbesserung des Gesundheitszustandes, die Vergrösserung der Leistungsfähigkeit, die Reduktion von Ängsten und dadurch eine Erhöhung der Lebensqualität.

Physiotherapeutische Behandlungsansätze sind: Förderung der Körperwahrnehmung, Ausdauertraining und Krafttraining, wodurch die Schmerzreizschwelle angehoben wird und Schmerzimpulse nicht mehr als ganz so quälend wahrgenommen werden.