Lexicon

Chronic pain syndrome

Sudec /CRPS

Complex regional pain syndrome

The Complex regional pain syndrome (CRPS) is a chronic neurological disease, which occurs after a soft tissue or nerve injury, often in connection with the fracture of an extremity. The development of the CRPS is unknown, it is regarded as a complication in the course of the disease.

The term “Morbus Sudeck” is considered outdated. The CRPS combines the following terms, which are not or less in use today: reflexive dystrophy, Morbus Sudeck, Sudeck-dystrophy, algodystrophy and symphatic reflexive dystrophy.

Symptomes express themselves in circulatory disorders, edema, skin changes, pain and functional limitations. Older people are more affected by this disease in the upper limbs than the lower, it is relatively common after radius fractures and shoulder surgeries.

The course of the disease is highly individual. Mild forms of the course can spontaneously return after several weeks. In other cases the disease increases its intensity and can be so severe that a normal life is almost impossible.

CRPS Type I: CRPS, which occurs after a trauma or an immobilization of an extremity (limb), but without a specific nerve damage.

CRPS Type II (causalgia): CRPS, that occures after a nerve injury, but nor necessarily limited to the site of injury.

The classification of severity

  • Degree 1 (urgent stage): Circumsribed pain at the site of injury, hyperesthesia, edema, muscle cramps, restriciton of mobility and hyperhidrosis. 
  • Degree 2 (dystrophic stage): Increasing, diffuse pain, edema, disturbance of growth of hair and nails (dystrophy), osteoporosis, incipient myodystrophia. Sometimes additional to that bleeding of subcutaneous tissue. 
  • Degree 3 (atrophy stage): large-scale pain, irreversible atrophy of tissue, generalization of the medical conditions. 

Some authors have also defined a fourth degree of severity, which is characterized by an immune system disorder, generalized edema and the change of hypotonia and hypertension.

Most important ist he early recognition of CRPS. The sooner it is known and treated appropiately, the better ist the course of health and the healing result.

The CRPS is treated with medication. In order to influence the swelling and the pain most positive, the treatment usually consists of lymphatic drainage, bandaging and active exercise before the initation of pain.

The aim of the treatment of CRPS is pain reduction and mantainance of mobility. It is very important to find the optimal balance between active exercise and not increasing the pain. The coordinated cooperation of patient, doctor and therapist is essential to provide the optimum support for the healing process.

Lexikon

Chronisches Schmerzsyndrom

Sudeck/CRPS

Komplexes regionales Schmerzsyndrom

Das komplexe regionale Schmerzsyndrom (Complex regional pain syndrome, CRPS) ist eine chronische neurologische Erkrankung, die nach einer Weichteil- oder Nervenverletzung, häufig in Zusammenhang mit der Fraktur einer Extremität, auftritt. Die Entstehung des CRPS ist unklar, es wird als Komplikation im Krankheitsverlauf angesehen.

Die Bezeichnung “Morbus Sudeck” gilt als veraltet, das CRPS fasst folgende Begriffe zusammen, die heutzutage nicht mehr oder immer weniger benutzt werden: Reflexdystrophie, Morbus Sudeck, Sudeck-Dystrophie, Algodystrophie und sympathische Reflexdystrophie.

Symptome äussern sich mit Durchblutungsstörungen, Ödeme, Hautveränderungen, Schmerzen und Funktionseinschränkungen. Die Erkrankung tritt bei Erwachsenen häufiger an den oberen Gliedmassen als an den unteren auf, sie ist relativ häufig nach Radiusfrakturen und Schulteroperationen.

Der Krankheitsverlauf ist individuell sehr unterschiedlich. Milde Verlaufsformen können nach Wochen spontan zurückgehen. In anderen Fällen nimmt die Erkrankung an Intensität zu und kann schliesslich so gravierend werden, dass sie die normale Lebensführung des Patienten stark eingeschränkt.

CRPS Typ I: CRPS, das nach Trauma oder Immobilisation einer Extremität auftritt, jedoch ohne spezifische Nervenschädigung.

CRPS Typ II (Synonym: Kausalgie): CRPS, das nach einer Nervenverletzung auftritt, aber nicht notwendigerweise auf den Ort der Verletzung beschränkt ist.

Die Einteilung in Schweregrade

  • Grad 1 (Akutes Stadium): Umschriebener Schmerz am Ort der Verletzung, Hyperästhesie, Ödeme, Muskelkrämpfe, Bewegungseinschränkung, Hyperhidrosis.
  • Grad 2 (Dystrophisches Stadium): Zunehmender, diffuser Schmerz, Ödeme, Wachstumsstörungen von Haaren und Nägeln (Dystrophie), Osteoporose, beginnender Muskelschwund. Mitunter zusätzlich subkutane Gewebeeinblutungen.
  • Grad 3 (Atrophisches Stadium): grossflächiger Schmerz, irreversible Gewebsatrophie, Generalisierung der Beschwerden.

Von einigen Autoren wird zusätzlich noch ein Grad 4 definiert, der durch Störungen des Immunsystems, generalisierte Ödeme und den Wechsel von Hypotonie und Hypertonie gekennzeichnet ist.

Wichtig ist die frühzeitige Erkennung von CRPS. Je früher es entdeckt und entsprechend behandelt wird, desto besser sind Verlauf und Heilung.

Das CRPS wird medikamentös behandelt. Um die Schwellung und die Schmerzen positiv zu beeinflussen wird meistens mittels Lymphdrainage, Bandagieren und aktiven Bewegungen vor dem auslösen von Schmerzen behandelt.

Ziel der Behandlung von CRPS  ist Schmerzsenkung und Erhaltung der Beweglichkeit. Wichtig ist hier das Finden der optimalen Balance zwischen aktivem Bewegen und nicht Verstärkung der Schmerzen. Die aufeinander abgestimmte Zusammenarbeit von Patient, Arzt und Therapeut ist unerlässlich, um den Genesungsprozess optimal zu unterstützen.