Lexicon

Degenerative changes

(= wearout)

The joints, tendants and ligaments throughout the entire body are subject to aging and stress-relating changes.These degeneratives changes are often cause of pains in the area os of the spine ort the joints. These are often marking the premiliary stage of osteoarthrosis. Since not too long ago, there is speculation that there could be some genetic predisposition.

Degenerative changes is a term used mainly for attrition in the area of the spine. If there are signs of attrition in other joints it is referred to as osteoarthrosis. Degenerative changes can occur at every joint of the spine, but most often they are found in the area of the cervical vertrebrae C3/4, C5/6 or the lumbar vertrebrae L1/2 and L4/5.

With posture correction, specific exercises and if necessary manual mobilization of joints, accompanying symptomes of degenerative change such as a feeling of stiffness, muscle tension and/or pain can be prevented or improved. Degenerative changes in the spine can be divided into the following stages:

Stage 1: Instability

First signs of disc degeneration

  • First occurrence of pain during exercise
  • Slipped discs are most common at this stage

Stage 2: Bone reaction

  • Jagged egdes to the vertebral bodies (ostephytes, also called spondylosis)
  • These changes can be found in the advanced age of almost all human beings, but usually with no or only minor symptomes

Stage 3: Stiffening

  • Increased stiffening of the spine. The body attemps to stabilise itself by the stiffening of the vertebrae
  • Due to this stiffening of the vertebrae in one place, often medcial conditions occur in another section of the spine, which must compensate fort he lost motion.
Degeneration in the cervical spine

Because of the close anatomical relatonship of the vertebral artery and the vegetative nervous system to the cervical spine, especially to the upper cervical vertebrae, degenerative changes can also cause vascular and vegetative symptomes such as dizziness or blurred vision. It can also be a pain projection in an upper extremity, which is referred to as shoulder-hand-syndrom. The cervical vertebrae in the region of C5/6 and C6/7 are most often affected by attrition.

Degeneration in the thoracic spine

Pain can be caused by a blockage of the small vertrebal joints and the joints between the vertebrae and ribs. These pains are usually sensitive to local pressure and radiate like a belt from the rear of the upper back side to the front.

Herniated discs in the thoracic spine are very rare. But degenerative changes of the upper thoracic vertebrae together with strained muscles in this area shouldn’t be ignored, it can often cause vegetative symptomes such as headaches, vertigo, unusually frequent and heavy sweating etc.

Degeneration in the lumbar spine
  • Back Pain
  • Lumbago, low-back pain
  • Claudicatio spinalis: spinal stenosis

Lexikon

Degenerative Veränderungen

(= Abnützung)

Die Gelenke, Sehnen und Bänder des ganzen Körpers unterliegen alterungs- und belastungsbedingten Veränderungen. Diese degenerativen Veränderungen sind häufig Ursache für Schmerzen in Bereichen der Wirbelsäule oder den Gelenken und stellen häufig das Vorstadium von Arthrose dar. Seit nicht allzu langer Zeit gibt es Vermutungen, dass eine gewisse genetische Prädisposition bestehen könnte.

Die Begrifflichkeit der degenerativen Veränderung wird hauptsächlich für Abnutzungserscheinungen im Bereich der Wirbelsäule verwendet. Finden sich Abnützungen in anderen Gelenken spricht man von Arthrose. Degenerative Veränderungen können an jedem Gelenk der Wirbelsäule auftreten, kommen aber am häufigsten im Bereich der Halswirbel C3/4, C5/6 und der Lendenwirbel L1/2 und L4/5 vor.

Durch Haltungskorrektur, gezielte Gymnastik und bei Bedarf Manuelle Mobilisation von Gelenken können Begleitbeschwerden der degenerativen Veränderungen wie Steifigkeitsgefühl, verspannte Muskulatur oder/und Schmerzen verhindert oder verbessert werden. Degenerative Veränderungen an der Wirbelsäule können in folgende Stadien eingeteilt werden:  

Stadium 1: Instabilität

Erste Anzeichen von Bandscheibendegeneration (Chondrose)

  • Erstes Auftreten von Schmerzen bei körperlicher Belastung
  • Bandscheibenvorfälle sind in diesem Stadium am häufigsten

Stadium 2: Knochenreaktion

  • Randzackenbildung an den Wirbelkörpern (Osteopythen, auch Spondylosen genannt)
  • Diese Veränderungen sind im fortgeschrittenen Lebensalter bei fast allen Mensch zu finden, meist aber ohne oder mit nur geringen Beschwerden

Stadium 3: Versteifung

  • Zunehmende Versteifung der Wirbelsäule. Der Körper versucht durch die Versteifung die Wirbel zu stabilisieren
  • Durch die Versteifung der Wirbel an der einen Stelle treten dann oft Beschwerden in anderen Abschnitten der Wirbelsäule auf, welche die verlorene Beweglichkeit kompensieren müssen
Degeneration im Bereich der Halswirbelsäule

Durch die enge anatomische Beziehung der Arteria vertebralis sowie des vegetativen Nervensystems zur Halswirbelsäule, insbesondere zu den oberen Halswirbeln, können degenerative Veränderungen auch vaskuläre und vegetative Symptome wie Schwindel oder Sehstörungen hervorrufen. Es kann auch eine Schmerzprojektion in die obere Extremität geben, was als Schulter-Arm-Syndrom bezeichnet wird. Meistens sind die Halswirbel in der Region C5/6 und C6/7 von Abnützungserscheinungen betroffen.

Degeneration im Bereich der Brustwirbelsäule

Schmerzen können entstehen durch  Blockierung der kleinen Wirbelgelenke und der Gelenke zwischen Wirbel und Rippen. Diese Schmerzen sind meist lokal druckempfindlich und strahlen gürtelförmig vom hinteren oberen Rücken über die Seite nach vorne aus.

Bandscheibenvorfälle kommen im Bereich der Brustwirbelsäule nur sehr selten vor. Nicht ausser Aacht zu lassen sind aber degenerative Veränderungen der oberen Brustwirbel zusammen mit verspannter Muskulatur in diesem Bereich, was nicht selten zu Symptome wie Kopfschmerzen, Schwindel, ungewöhnlich häufiges und starkes Schwitzen und andere vegetative Symptome auslösen kann.

Degeneration im Bereich der Lendenwirbelsäule

  • Kreuzschmerzen: LVS, LSS, LRS
  • Lumbago, Lumbalgie
  • Claudicatio Spinalis: Spinalkanalstenose