Lexicon

Vertigo

Vertigo is a symptome, not an illness. The reasons are manifold:

A floating stone in the inner ear can cause positional vertigo, which ist he most common type of vertigo. Typically, the symptoms are caused by a lateral position of the ear or a backward movement of the head.

The positional vertigo typically occurs only for a short time and disappears within 5-10 seconds, the maximum takes more than a minute and can be accompanied by nausea. Characteristic for the positional vertigo is that it is weaker when the triggering movement is repeated. The specially trained physical therapist can shake the stones back in thei original place, allowing a rapid healing. In the majority of cases the positional vertigo disappears within a few weeks.

Migraine, epilepsy or abnormality of the carotid arteries can cause vertigo. A rotary vertigo attacks takes a few seconds or minutes and is accompanied by nystagmus (involuntary eye movements) and a tendency to fall, maybe also nausea.

Damage to the inner ear, inflammation of the vestibular nerve, small brain tumor, brain stem damage and other diseases in the head can cause rotary vertigo for hours or days, accompied by nystagmus, postural instability, nausea and vomitting.

Damage to the cerebellum, epilepsy, chronic inner-ear defects, poisoning, neurological and psychological disorders and diseases of the periphal nervous system (neuropathy) can be the cause of dizziness and postural vertigo, a shaking type of vertigo. This often goes along with unsteadyness, with or without nystagmus, usually without nausea. There is also a tendency to fall in different directions, depending on the cause.

Functionally related vertigo of unknown cause” is caused by different disorders in different areas of the head, the ear, the neck and sometimes the upper thoracic spine, for examble by:

  • blood circulation problems, anamolies, surgery, infection of the inner ear etc.
  • congenital lesions of the cercival spine (Rheumatic Arthritis, instability in Down Syndrom)
  • accidents such as whiplash, fractures of the upper cervical vertebrae, chronic muscle tension, restricted mobility of the upper cervical spine
  • operations, scars in the are of the neck and head
  • brain tumor or various vascular malformations
  • damage to the upper thoracic spine
  • migraine attack
  • side effects of medications
  • high blood pressure
  • atherosclerosis (calcification of the artieries)
  • vision problems

Lexikon

Schwindel

Schwindel ist ein Symptom, keine eigenständige Krankheit. Die Ursachen sind sehr vielfältig:

Ein schwimmendes Steinchen (Kristalle) im Innenohr können Lagerungsschwindeln verursachen, welches die häufigste Schwindelform ist. Typischerweise werden die Symptome ausgelöst durch Seitenlage auf das betroffene Ohr oder durch Rückwärtsbewegung des Kopfes.

Der Lagerungsschwindel tritt im Allgemeinen kurz auf und verschwindet innert 5-10 Sekunden wieder, dauert aber maximal eine Minute, und kann mit Übelkeit verbunden sein. Der Lagerungsschwindel hat die besondere Eigenschaft, dass er schwächer wird, wenn die auslösende Handlung wiederholt wird. Der speziell ausgebildete Physiotherapeut kann mit einem Manöver die Steinchen im Innenohr wieder an die richtige Stelle schütteln, was eine rasche Heilung ermöglicht. Im Grossteil der Fälle entschwindet der Lagerungschwindel zunehmend im Laufe einiger Wochen.

Migräne, Anomalie der Halsarterien oder Epilepsie können Drehschwindel verursachen. Eine Drehschwindelattacke dauert einige Sekunden oder Minuten, ist begleitet von Nystagmus (d.h. unwillkürlichen Augenbewegungen in der Horizontalen) und einer Fallneigung, evtl. tritt auch Übelkeit auf.

Akute Innnenohrbeschädigungen, Entzündung des Vestibularisnervs, Kleinhirntumor, Hirnstammbeschädigungen und andere Krankheiten im Bereich des Kopfes können Anhaltender Drehschwindel über Stunden oder Tage mit Nystagmus, Fallneigung und häufiger Übelkeit und Erbrechen verursachen.

Schädigung des Kleinhirns, Epilepsie, chronische Innenohrdefekt, Vergiftungen, neurologische und psychologische Erkrankungen sowie Erkrankungen des peripheren Nervensystems (Polyneuropathie) können Ursachen vom Benommenheitsschwindel und Schwankschwindel sein.

Dieser Schwindel ist meist gekoppelt mit Stand- und Gangunsicherheit mit oder ohne Nystagmus, meist ohne Übelkeit. Es besteht auch eine Fallneigung in verschiedene Richtungen je nach Ursache.

Funktionell benigner Schwindel unklarer Ursachen” wird durch verschiedene Störungen in unterschiedlichen Bereiches des Kopfes, des Ohrs, des Nackens und z.T. der oberen Brustwirbelsäule hervorgerufen, wie beispielsweise durch:

  • Durchblutungsstörung, Anomalien, Operationen,
    Entzündungen und etc. vom Innenohr
  • Angeborene Schädigungen der HWS (Rheumatische
    Arthritis, Instabilität bei Down Syndrom)
  • Unfälle wie Schleudertrauma, Brüche der oberen
    Halswirbel, chronische verspannte Muskulatur,
    eingeschränkte Beweglichkeit der oberen Kopfgelenke
  • Operationen, Narben im Bereich der
    Halswirbelsäule/Kopf und Hals
  • Gehirn Tumor oder verschiedene Gefässmissbildung
  • Schädigung der oberen Brustwirbelsäule
  • Migräneanfälle
  • Nebenwirkungen von Medikamenten
  • Bluthochdruck
  • Arteriosklerose (Arterienverkalkung)
  • Sehprobleme